Contemplata aliis Tradere

A meagre contribution to the mission and work of the Order of Preachers: my reflections, thoughts, ideas and the occasional rant on matters mainly theological, philosophical and ecclesiastical, drawn primarily from my reading and experience of life and the world. Striving to be always Catholic, firmly Christian and essentially Dominican, flavoured with dashes of Von Balthasar.

My Photo
Location: Oxford, United Kingdom

A son of the English Province of the Order of Friars Preachers (Dominicans); born in Malaysia but have lived in the USA, Singapore, the UK & the Philippines for varying durations. A pilgrim and way-farer, a searcher for Truth on the journey of Life... "Wherever the Catholic sun doth shine, There’s always laughter and good red wine. At least I’ve always found it so. Benedicamus Domino!" - Hilaire Belloc

Wednesday, February 22, 2006

The Consistory has been Announced!

His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI has announced that his first Consistory will be held on 24 March 2006 when he will add 15 new members to the Sacred College of Cardinals.

We have been asked to pray for those who are called to assist the Holy Father in governing Holy Church.

And of course, such news is a marvellous excuse for these pictures of the cardinal's hat, the galero, and Pope Pius XII bestowing the galero on a Cardinal!

The Cardinals-Designate are:

Archbishop William Levada, Archbishop-emeritus of San Francisco, Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;
Archbishop Franc Rode, C.M., Archbishop-emeritus of Ljubljana, Prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life;
Archbishop Agostino Vallini, Bishop-emeritus of Albano, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura;
Archbishop Jorge Liberato Urosa Savino of Caracas;
Archbishop Gaudencio Rosales of Manila;
Archbishop Jean-Pierre Ricard of Bordeaux;
Archbishop Antonio Canizares Llovera of Toledo;
Archbishop Nicholas Cheong Jin-Suk of Seoul;
Archbishop Sean O'Malley, O.F.M. Cap. of Boston;
Archbishop Stanislaw Dziwisz of Krakow;
Archbishop Carlo Caffara of Bologna;
Bishop Joseph Zen Ze-kiun, S.D.B of Hong Kong;
Archbishop Andrea Cordero Lanza de Montezemolo, Archpriest of St. Paul's Outside the Walls;
Archbishop-emeritus Peter Proeku Dery of Tamale, Ghana;
Father Albert Vanhoye, S.J., former secretary of the Pontifical Biblical Commission.


Post a Comment

<< Home